It’s a busy time of year for NHL teams and things are no different for the Carolina Hurricanes as several press releases were sent out from the home office on Monday.

They released the Prospects Camp Guide which names all the attendees as well as the schedule.  This year’s guide is very informative as they included pictures and brief bios of every player.  You can download your copy below-

Hurricanes Prospect Camp Guide

Andrei Svechnikov, Martin Necas, and Jake Bean along with many others will be there.


The team also announced that Tim Gleason would be the new leader for the development of the club’s defensemen.

Tim Gleason


NHL teams were required to announce to the NHL which restricted free agents they were going to qualify by 5 p.m. on Monday.  The players not qualified would be free agents on July 1 if they were not otherwise signed.

The Canes qualified Trevor van Riemsdyk and forwards Greg McKegg, Lucas Wallmark and Valentin Zykov.

They did not qualify Phil Di Giuseppe but re-signed him to a one-year, one-way deal for $750K.

They did not qualify forwards Joakim Nordstrom and Sergey Tolchinsky and defensemen Klas Dahlbeck, Tyler Ganly and Keegan Kanzig.

For information, check the following link.

Players qualified and unqualified

It is not a huge surprise on any of these decisions.  While Nordstrom was an excellent penalty killer, a goal starved team like Carolina needs more than two markers all year from that position.  He started out with a lot of promise and in his first season in Carolina he notched 10 goals and 14 assists in 71 games, but his production dropped each season since then.

In the meantime, the Jeff Skinner, Justin Faulk, and Victor Rask watch continues.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here